Album Review: Five Finger Death Punch ‘The Wrong Side of Heaven and The Righteous Side of Hell Vol. 1’


Five Finger Death Punch’s upcoming studio album ‘The Wrong Side of Heaven and The Righteous Side of Hell Vol. 1’ drops today, July 30th! Nothing worth striving for happens overnight and by taking their time over the last two years to develop their latest album, FFDP has definitely done it right. I think their fans will agree with me when I say it was worth the wait.

From the moment you press play, the first track, entitled ‘Lift Me Up’, sets the tone for an album that is strong from beginning to end, as well as offering your eardrums a real treat: a cameo by the one and only Rob Halford of Judas Priest.  The title track, ‘Wrong Side of Heaven’, comes in on the soundwaves of slower, more melodic guitar riffs and introspective lyrics, but don’t let my description of it fool you.  This track is no less powerful or captivating than the faster, harder tracks that take up the majority of the album.

By the time the 10th track comes around you’ll probably be wondering to yourself how this album could get any better and that’s when you hear it: FFDP delivers a relentlessly awesome cover of ‘Mamma Said Knock You Out’ (originally performed by LL Cool J).  The last two tracks bring the album to a close perfectly. ‘Anywhere But Here’, featuring the gorgeous vocal stylings of Maria Brink, makes for a hard-hitting ballad, while ‘Dot Your Eyes’ featuring Jamey Jasta, delivers the final blow that will knock you right on your ass TKO-style.

I recommend taking the day off after you listen to this album because you’re going to be head banging and stomping your feet until your muscles ache.  Seriously, P90X ain’t got nothing on this album.

5FDP The Wrong Side of Heaven...

Track Listing
1. Lift Me Up [feat Rob Halford of Judas Priest]
2. Watch You Bleed
3. You
4. Wrong Side Of Heaven
5. Burn MF
6. I.M.Sin
7. Anywhere But Here [feat. Maria Brink]
8. Dot Your Eyes
9. M.I.N.E (End This Way)
10. Mama Said Knock You Out [feat. Tech N9ne]
11. Diary Of A Deadman
12. I.M.Sin [feat. Max Cavalera]
13. Anywhere But Here [Duet with Maria Brink]
14. Dot Your Eyes [feat. Jamey Jasta]


Five Finger Death Punch – Lift Me Up [Featuring Rob Halford of Judas Priest]
Lift Me Up

Five Finger Death Punch – Mama Said Knock You Out [Featuring Tech N9ne]
Mama Said Knock You Out

About The Author

Aerialist. Brass Acrobat. Nudist. Snake Charmer. Painted Lady. Jill-of-all-trades. Heathen. Expert in all things nerdy.

Related posts