Album Review: Foo Fighters ‘Sonic Highways’


On November 10th 2014, Foo Fighters released their latest album, “Sonic Highways.” To me, the title is very fitting. The songs fluctuate from mellow to fast. Dave Grohl’s guitar work is quite good, at times pulling on the reminiscent heart strings of memory, reminding the listener of legends from years past. Having been in arguably the most influential band of the 90’s, one would expect Dave to carry on that legacy with the Foo Fighters. It seems though, that with each new release he continues to ditch that legacy and explore further his roots, and in turn, creating his own legacy. There are tracks that could easily be played on 70’s rock radio. Part funk, part rock, somewhat mellow and somewhat aggressive, Foo Fighters’ “Sonic Highways” is just that. An audio journey into musical exploration. Definitely worth a listen.


Track Listing

1. Something From Nothing

2. The Feast and the Famine

3. Congregation

4. What Did I Do?/God As My Witness

5. Outside

6. In The Clear

7. Subterranean

8. I Am A River




Foo Fighters – Something From Nothing

Something From Nothing

Foo Fighters – In The Clear

In the Clear

About The Author

Related posts