Album Review: The Jelly Jam ‘Profit’


  1. Care
  2. Stain On The Sun
  3. Water
  4. Stop
  5. Perfect Lines (Flyin’)
  6. Mr. Man
  7. Memphis
  8. Ghost Town
  9. Heaven
  10. Permenant Hold
  11. Fallen
  12. Strong Belief

The Jelly Jam’s fourth album entitled ‘Profit’ was released on May 27th, and it sees the powerhouse trio deliver more of their dreamscape instrumentals and vivid storytelling.

It takes me a few bars to get a hold of the sound being delivered here, but as soon as it’s clear, I’m hooked. I’ve not heard The Jelly Jam before, and I’m wondering how the hell this can be true. I’m such a fan of this kind of music; dramatic and sweeping, with a distinctive alternative rock influence, yet experimental elements also.

The Jelly Jam consists of Ty Tabor from King’s X, Dream Theater bassist John Myung and Rod Morgenstein who also drums for Winger and The Dixie Dregs. They have been writing and recording together for nearly 15 years. Their previous albums seem to be along similar lines, and I find myself constantly surprised by what I’m hearing.

The first four tracks are of the alt rock kind, and I adore the lyrics, delivered with humility and simplicity, despite their fantastic and complex content. The heavy guitar bridges and middle 8s are wholly satisfying in a Biffy Clyro fashion, and the drums have a spine-tingling 90s reverb. Anything with a 90s influence is an immediate plus in my books.

By track 5 – “Perfect Lines” – however, a Queen-esque piano is introduced, as are different and interesting percussion instruments. Then, before you know what’s happened, “Mr Man” kicks in, followed by “Memphis”, and you’re transported to a gritty, blues and almost desert rock world in which you take a swig of cold beer and admire the way the sun scorches the rooftops, as if it was only trying to make you hotter. Take that any way you will.

“Ghost Town” is more of a mellow psychedelic 60s sound, again standing on its own as a piece of music. This continues on through “Heaven”, and the instrumental “Permanent Hold”. The conversation has gone deep and meaningful, and the sun is clinging hold of the horizon, eager to hear the words you speak, but it has been called to another place.

The record ends in a rather sombre tone, with low, moody vocals and crying guitars. However, it feels hopeful, with the hook reaching up to a D major, rather than the B minor, willing the story to continue. And that’s always how an album should end in my opinion.

“Profit” is a story from start to finish, telling tales from a ‘prophet’ character, who is as much a human full of emotions, hopes and fears, wishes and reactions as anyone else. The instrumentation expands into many genres, taking the listener along with it. Enjoy if you’re a fan of alt rock, psychedelic rock and blues rock.

About The Author

Late 20s, married, British, bisexual with a tonne of sass, and sure opinion. If I'm not writing, I'm working with a blues/garage rock band that I manage, or I'm creating and editing content on YouTube. If you want to know more, just hit me up on Twitter, if only to enjoy my ridiculous profile pictures.

Related posts