Album Spotlight: Avenged Sevenfold ‘Nightmare’

‘Nightmare’ is Avenged Sevenfold’s fifth studio album and was released July 27, 2010. The band started working on the album in late 2009 up until the death of their drummer, James “The Rev” Sullivan, who was found dead in his home on December 28,2009. The band suspended work on the album for quite a few months in light of the tragedy, but started back up with new drummer, Mike Portnoy of Dream Theater, stepping in. Portnoy had been a major influence on The Rev. The album was finally released later the next summer and has received a warm reception from critics. To date, Nightmare has produced 4 singles, ‘Nightmare’, ‘Welcome to the Family’, ‘So Far Away’ and ‘Buried Alive’. ‘So Far Away’ was the first Avenged Sevenfold song that Synyster Gates wrote completely by himself and has been dedicated to their late drummer. The band currently consists of M. Shadows on lead vocals, Synyster Gates on lead guitar, Zacky Vengeance on rhythm guitar, Johnny Christ on bass and Arin Ilejay on drums.

About The Author

Related posts