Album Spotlight: Filter ‘The Sun Comes Out Tonight’


On June 4th, 2013, American rock band Filter will release their 6th studio album ‘The Sun Comes Out Tonight’. Originally slated as an independent release and named ‘Gurney and the Burning Books’, the band signed a major label deal with Wind Up Records which caused a delay in releasing the album and lead to the renaming of it. Lead singer Richard Patrick has been quoted as saying the album’s sound is “…something that was exactly like Short Bus but done in today’s world with today’s technology”. The first single, “What Do You Say”, was released April 2nd, 2013, and on March 18th, 2013 the band offered the album’s opening tune “We Hate It When You Get What You Want” as a free download. Filter currently features Richard Patrick on vocals and guitar, Jonathan Radtke on guitar, Phil Buckman on bass, and Jeff Friedl and Elias Mallin splitting duty on drums. The band will be hitting the road in June and July on the Summerland Tour with Everclear, Live and Sponge.


Track Listing
1. “We Hate It When You Get What You Want”
2. “What Do You Say”
3. “Surprise”
4. “Watch The Sun Come Out Tonight”
5. “It’s Got To Be Right Now”
6. “This Finger’s For You”
7. “Self Inflicted”
8. “First You Break It”
9. “Burn It”
10. “Take That Knife Out Of My Back”
11. “It’s My Time”
12. “It’s Just You”


Filter – What Do You Say
What Do You Say

Filter – We Hate It When You Get What You Want
We Hate It When You Get What You Want

About The Author

Related posts