Album Spotlight: Marilyn Manson ‘Born Villain’


Marilyn Manson’s 8th studio album, ‘Born Villain’ was released May 1, 2012 on Cooking Vinyl Records and Manson’s own vanity label Hell, etc.  The first single, ‘No Reflection’ was released March 13, 2012.  The album feature’s Manson (Vocals, Guitar), Twiggy (Guitars, Bass Guitar, Keyboards), Chris Vrenna (Keyboards, Synthesizers, Percussion), Fred Sablan (Bass Guitar, Guitars) and Ginger Fish (Drums). On February 24, 2011 Fish resigned from the band, so Jason Sutter stepped in for the Born Villain tour. This album sounds unlike any of Manson’s other albums, Born Villain is rhythm-driven and more bluesy.  Manson has described the lyrics as “more romantic” yet “self-abusive”. The album also includes a remake of Carly Simon’s ‘You’re So Vain’, in which Manson teams up with Johnny Depp.

About The Author

Related posts